The Duke Effect

26 February 2021

With more than 82 million household viewers in the first month alone, the Netflix mini-series Bridgerton is making hearts beat faster and spawning plenty of office water cooler conversations (albeit on Zoom) for its ‘love’ scenes on the stairwell.

Set in the regency period of society debuts, dashing gentlemen and virtuous ladies playing the harp, the series is adapted from the nine books by romance writer Julia Quinn about the eponymous Bridgerton family.

Noted for their humour and sharp and witty dialogue, the books are said to be a modern twist of Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice, the twist being sex and passion rather than arm-in-arm promenading.

The Vision Australia Library has nine of the Bridgerton books available in DAISY audio beginning with The Duke and I which sees the ‘irresistible’ Duke of Hastings shunning marriage and society until Daphne Bridgerton agrees to a fake courtship. Each benefit from the sham courtship but neither of them counted on love finding a way.

You can listen to an excerpt of The Duke and I, narrated by English actor Sally Burnett on Reader Recommended with Frances Keyland here.

The Bridgerton Series

You can find these titles in the series available in DAISY through the Library.

The Duke and I (2000)

The Viscount Who Loved Me (2000)

An Offer From a Gentleman (2001)

Romancing Mister Bridgerton (2002)

To Sir Phillip, With Love (2003)

When He Was Wicked (2004)

It’s In His Kiss (2005)

To let us know more of what you’d like from the Vision Australia Library, email us at

The Vision Australia Library opens up a world of Audio and Braille books, newspapers, magazines and podcasts for anyone who has a print disability.

Call 1300 65 46 56 or email