The Lifespan of a Fact (audio described)

Details

Date 22 Oct 2021

Time 20:00 PM

Contact

Drama Theatre

Address Sydney Opera House , Sydney , NSW

Phone Box Office: 9250 1777

Overview

Overview

Audio Described Friday 22 October at 8pm

Drama Theatre Sydney Opera House

Box Office: 9250 1777

Companion Cards accepted – please mention Audio Description when booking


Finding truth in the post-truth era

In her debut performance with STC, Australian legend Sigrid Thornton will lead this thrilling, stylish and hyper-intelligent hit Broadway comedy that tackles the great question of our time: true or false?

Jim has finally made it – an internship at a prestigious magazine and a once-in-a-lifetime assignment: the chance to fact check a new essay by a writer he idolises.

But as he methodically begins his task, holding each detail up to the light, he discovers that separating fact from fiction is not such an easy job. Performed by Charles Wu ( The Resistible Rise of Arturo Ui), Jim’s dogged pursuit of the facts is pitted against the titanic ego of the essay’s author. Thornton plays the shrewd, sharp-tongued editor who manoeuvres the combatants while pushing the article through to print.

For fans of The Newsroom and The West Wing, The Lifespan of a Fact is a timely investigation of the old truism “never let the truth get in the way of a good story.” Directed by Anne-Louise Sarks ( Avalanche), this high-octane production questions how, in our age of fake news and big data, we’ll ever get to a world that’s post-post-truth.

Approx. duration1hr 35mins (no interval). Subject to change. More info.Content Infrequent strong language, suicide themes. Subject to change. More info.